Photography Evaluation

This is my final image that I have chosen from my selection of photos which were shot at Old Gorhambury House on the 5th of October, 2012.
My photo does actually look somewhat similar to what I had initially imagined at the planning stages of this shoot, which I am pleased about. I knew I wanted something fairly simplistic and minimalistic, with obviously no distracting elements in the background. Through all of this I still needed to stick to the brief of 1960s fashion shoot for a Vogue cover, and I would say I have managed to achieve that along with my own ideas included.

Before planning this photo shoot, I watched a video on iconic fashion photography in the 1960s and viewed images from photographers such as David Bailey, Erwin Blumenfeld and Cecil Beaton. One of the photographers that particularly caught my attention was David Bailey, as I really liked the way he worked with his models and environment, his individual style of shooting fashion photography and just his images on a whole. I tried to interpret Baileys style in my chosen picture, by keeping the black and white theme which he has shot in many times, and also highlighting the femininity of the model by transporting some of the focus on to the models hair movement as well as the model herself. David Bailey caught the femininity of his models by also focusing on the hair, eyes or the women’s posture; you can see this in his images featuring Jean Shrimpton and Susan Murray.

To improve my photo shoot, and inevitably then improving the outcome of my images, I would have perhaps planned my timing for the shoot more carefully and planned out who in my group would do what job required, such as carrying equipment, directing the models, holding the light reflectors and so on.

I have received some feedback on my image from my peers, asking them questions on framing of the photo, any improvements which could be made, whether or not the subject is shown well, if the theme is represented well, and if the image is suitable for a Vogue cover…
Out of the three people I asked, all of them said that the image is framed really well as the model is central of the image and is the main focus, with no distracting elements.
One person mentioned that the hair movement of the model could have improvements, and I agree on this point. If I had the chance to shoot this particular image again, I would use a different tool to give the hair more of a ‘wind swept’ natural looking movement, and give it more of a lift. Despite this, I’m still quite pleased with how the hair looks in the image.
Two people thought that my image fits the theme of 1960s fashion really well, as they thought that the models attire looks as though shes dressed in the 60s, and the image itself is a traditional 60s looking shoot. Overlooking this, one person commented that there is nothing in the image that reminds them of 1960s style, so to improve on this next time I would perhaps have the model dressed more appropriately to fit the theme, and perhaps have a prop from the 60s.
When my peers were asked whether or not the image could be used for a Vogue cover, they all agreed that it could be as the theme of fashion is shown well, and because it is in black and white it shows more emotion therefore illustrating both fashion and interest together.

One aspect of my image that I am particularly pleased with is the background. The horizon is a clear cut straight horizontal line, making the image appear really well framed.
Something that I’m not that happy about with my image is that in my opinion, it could fit in with the theme better. For instance, the photo itself doesn’t look like it would be used in the 1960s, however it is interpreted now as though it could be shot back in that era.

Overall, to make any improvements on my final image I would try to achieve more of a 1960s feel to it by instructing the model to wear appropriate 1960s themed attire, and perhaps use an antique prop with it.  Other than this, I think that the picture looks great and enjoyed it.

Leave a comment